Electoral campaign closed – today is a day of ‘electoral silence’ – tomorrow, Sunday 12 June, is election day: voting is held from 7 to 23 for 5 referendum questions and for the renewal of elected bodies in 971 municipalities. The ballot for the abrogative referendums will follow the closing of the polling stations, the one for the administrative session will begin at 2 pm on Monday 13 June. The electoral body for the 5 referendum questions – on the “Severino law” for being cast off after conviction, on the limitation of precautionary measures, on the separation of the careers of magistrates, on the evaluation of magistrates by lay members of the judicial councils, on signatures for the candidacies to the CSM – is of 50,915,402 voters, of which 4,735,783 abroad (the survey dates back to 8 June last). Five colors of the ballots that will be given to voters: red, orange, yellow, gray and green.

The first administrative round involves 971 municipalities, of which 142 with a population greater than 15,000 inhabitants and 829 equal to or less, for a total of 8,831,743 voters. In particular, 22 provincial capitals and 4 regional capitals are called to vote: Alessandria, Asti, Cuneo, Como, Lodi, Monza, Belluno, Padua, Verona, Gorizia, Genoa, La Spezia, Parma, Piacenza, Lucca, Pistoia, Frosinone , Rieti, Viterbo, L’Aquila, Barletta, Taranto, Catanzaro, Palermo, Messina, Oristano. Of the provincial capitals to the vote are 4 those commissariats: Barletta and Taranto following a vote of no confidence, while Messina and Viterbo due to the resignation of the mayor.

Among the regions, those most interested in voting for municipal elections are Sicily with 1,549,799 voters and 120 municipalities, Lombardy with 1,044,753 voters and 127 municipalities and Veneto with 993,634 voters and 86 municipalities. All adult citizens present on the electoral lists are allowed to vote. EU citizens residing in Italy can also vote for municipal councils, after registering with the electoral lists.

In municipalities with up to 15,000 inhabitants there is no ballot (except in the case of a tie between the two most voted candidates for mayors) and no separate vote, i.e. the possibility of voting at the same time for a list that supports a possible mayor and a candidate for mayor from another side. The candidate who obtains the highest number of votes is elected mayor. Only in the event of absolute parity of votes will a ballot be held on Sunday 26 June.

In municipalities over 15,000 inhabitants, the candidate who obtains the absolute majority of valid votes (at least 50% plus one) is elected mayor in the first round. If no candidate reaches this threshold, voting will be resumed on Sunday 26 June for the ballot between the two most voted candidates.

On the occasion of the vote, the Ministry of the Interior will open the press room at the Viminale from 6 pm tomorrow 12 June. Turnout, results of ballots and other information will be available online in real time on Eligendo, the Electoral Services portal, also accessible through www.interno.gov.it, and on the Eligendo mobile app.

#Election #day #referendums #Municipalities #Politics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.